Saturday, August 6, 2016

Creative Schools

Tahun terbit: 2015
Penerbit: Penguin
Harga: USD 12.39 di Kobo Store
Format: EPUB
Rating Shiori-ko: 5/5
Sinopsis: 

A revolutionary reappraisal of how to educate our children and young people by the New York Times bestselling author of The Element and Finding Your Element

Ken Robinson is one of the world’s most influential voices in education, and his 2006 TED Talk on the subject is the most viewed in the organization’s history. Now, the internationally recognized leader on creativity and human potential focuses on one of the most critical issues of our time: how to transform the nation’s troubled educational system. At a time when standardized testing businesses are raking in huge profits, when many schools are struggling, and students and educators everywhere are suffering under the strain, Robinson points the way forward. He argues for an end to our outmoded industrial educational system and proposes a highly personalized, organic approach that draws on today’s unprecedented technological and professional resources to engage all students, develop their love of learning, and enable them to face the real challenges of the twenty-first century. Filled with anecdotes, observations and recommendations from professionals on the front line of transformative education, case histories, and groundbreaking research—and written with Robinson’s trademark wit and engaging style—Creative Schools will inspire teachers, parents, and policy makers alike to rethink the real nature and purpose of education.

Sunday, July 10, 2016

Quiet Power

Penulis: Susan Cain
Jumlah halaman: 288 halaman
Tahun terbit: 2016
Penerbit: Penguin Young Readers Group
Harga: USD 12.99 di Kobo Store
Format: EPUB
Rating Shiori-ko: 5/5
Sinopsis:

Based on the monumental bestseller Quiet, this new version focuses on the strengths and challenges of being an introverted kid 

Susan Cain sparked a worldwide conversation when she published Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World that Can't Stop Talking. With her inspiring book, she permanently changed the way we see introverts and the way introverts see themselves. The original book focused on the workplace; this book focuses on kids--school, extracurriculars, family life, and friendship. It also features Susan Cain's own story. There's even a guide at the end of the book for parents and teachers. This insightful, accessible, and empowering book, illustrated with amusing comic-style art, will be eye-opening to extroverts and introverts alike.

Thursday, July 7, 2016

The Summer I Turned Pretty

The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer #1)
Penulis: Jenny Han
Jumlah halaman: 276 halaman
Tahun terbit: 2010 (pertama kali terbit 2009)
Penerbit: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Format: EPUB
Harga: USD 9.59 di Kobo Store
Rating Shiori-ko: 2/5
Sinopsis:

Some summers are just destined to be pretty.


When each summer begins, Belly leaves her school life behind and escapes to Cousins Beach, the place she has spent every summer of her life. Not only does the beach house mean home away from home, but her favorite people are there: Susannah, her mother's best friend, and her sons, Conrad and Jeremiah. Belly has been chasing Conrad for as long as she can remember, and more than anything, she hopes this summer will be different. Despite distractions from a new guy named Cam and lingering looks from Conrad's brother, Jeremiah, Belly's heart belongs to Conrad. Will he offer his to her? Will this be the summer that changes everything?

Wednesday, July 6, 2016

The Unexpected Everything

Penulis: Morgan Matson
Jumlah halaman: 331 halaman
Tahun terbit: 2016
Penerbit: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Harga: USD 12.99 di Kobo Store
Format: EPUB
Rating Shiori-ko: 5/5
Sinopsis: 

A New York Times bestseller!

From Morgan Matson, the bestselling author of Since You’ve Been Gone comes a feel-good story of friendship, finding yourself, and all the joys in life that happen while you’re busy making other plans.

Andie has a plan. And she always sticks to her plan.

Future? A top-tier medical school.
Dad? Avoid him as much as possible (which isn’t that hard considering he’s a Congressman and he’s never around).
Friends? Palmer, Bri, and Toby—pretty much the most awesome people on the planet, who needs anyone else?
Relationships? No one’s worth more than three weeks.

So it’s no surprise that Andie’s got her summer all planned out too.

Until a political scandal costs Andie her summer pre-med internship, and lands both she and Dad back in the same house together for the first time in years. Suddenly she’s doing things that aren’t Andie at all—working as a dog walker, doing an epic scavenger hunt with her dad, and maybe, just maybe, letting the super cute Clark get closer than she expected. Palmer, Bri, and Toby tell her to embrace all the chaos, but can she really let go of her control?

Saturday, July 2, 2016

I'll Give You the Sun

Penulis: Jandy Nelson
Jumlah halaman: 429 halaman
Tahun terbit: 2015 (pertama kali terbit tahun 2014)
Penerbit: Walker Books
Harga: Hadiah Ulang Tahun ke-23
Format: paperback
Rating Shiori-ko: 3/5
Sinopsis:

From the author of The Sky Is Every­where, a radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying - all at once. For fans of John Green, Gayle Forman and Lauren Oliver. Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close - until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don't realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.

Quiet

Penulis: Susan Cain
Jumlah halaman: 333 halaman
Tahun terbit: 2013
Penerbit: Penguin Books
Format: paperback
Harga: Rp 213.000 di Books & Beyond
Rating Shiori-ko: 5/5
Sinopsis:

For far too long, those who are naturally quiet, serious or sensitive have been overlooked. The loudest have taken over - even if they have nothing to say.

It's time for everyone to listen. It's time to harness the power of introverts.

It's time for Quiet.